Walter Hayes Trophy programme 11

Walter Hayes Trophy
‘Roll of honour’
James Beckett
courtesy and copyright of James Beckett

Roll Of Honour

The Walter Hayes Trophy commemorates one of the sport’s unsung heroes. Harrow-born Walter Hayes started life as a journalist, who became a Fleet Street editor before joining Ford as an image-maker in the public relations department in 1961. His brief was to add sparkle to the family car-maker. To do this he persuaded them to take on the famous Italian manufacturer Ferrari in the motorsport arena, after the company turned down offers from America to buy the famous sports car name. The chosen battleground was the Le Mans 24 hour race, which gave birth to the iconic Ford GT40.

Ford continued their image marketing through rallying, but perhaps Hayes’s greatest achievement was to introduce the giant corporation to Mike Costin and Keith Duckworth of Cosworth engineering, to create the most successful customer Formula One engine of all time, the Ford Cosworth DFV. From its launch in 1967 to 1983, the DFV engine won 155 Grands Prix, powering Graham Hill, Jochen Rindt, Jackie Stewart, Emerson Fittipaldi, James Hunt, Mario Andretti, Alan Jones, Nelson Piquet and Keke Rosberg to be World Champions.

Hayes continued to enjoy a successful career in all forms of motorsport activity with Ford. He went on to become Vice President of Ford of Europe and America, and for a short time before his retirement he was chairman of Ford-owned Aston Martin. Water Hayes passed away on Boxing Day 2000.

Year: First/ Second/ Third

2001 Neil Fowler, Paul Sleeman, James Murray
2002 Gavin Wills, Peter Daly, Ed Moore
2003 Joey Foster, Peter Daly, David Leslie
2004 Joey Foster, Danny Watts, Stuart Gough
2005 Joey Foster, Peter Dempsey, Nathan Freke
2006 Peter Dempsey, Neville Smith, Lee Mumford
2007 Peter Dempsey, James Nash, Wayne Boyd
2008 Conor Daly, Michael Vergers, Josh Fisher
2009 Connor di Phillippi, Robert Barrable, Felix Fisher
2010 Peter Dempsey, Ivor McCullough, Wayne Boyd
2011 Adrian Campfield, Wayne Boyd, Josh Fisher
2012 Tristan Nunez, John Martin, Ivor McCullough
2013 Scott Malvern, Oliver White, Kevin O’Hara
2014 Wayne Boyd, Robert Hall, Michai Stephens
2015 Graham Caroll, Oliver White, Scott Andrews
2016 Niall Murray, Oliver Askew, Josh Fisher
2017 Michael Moyers, Josh Fisher, James Raven
2018 Michael Moyers, Matthew Cowley, Jordan Dempsey